I Voted Trump

As I write this, on the morning of 04 November 2020, the votes are in but it’s still not clear who won the election. It seems like Biden will end up winning, but it’s too early to tell.

In the lead up to the election I wasn’t convinced that I would vote at all. I sat out 2016 because I find it hard to vote to give someone – anyone – power over me. I anticipated doing the same in 2020. However, a couple of things occurred that made me change my mind.

First was the treatment of Brett Kavanaugh at the hands of the Democrats during his Supreme Court confirmation process. The fact that these people assumed guilt on the basis of an accusation alone – ostensibly because the ‘worst case scenario’ was that a raped would go unpunished (in fact, the worst case scenario is that innocent man goes punished) – convinced me that Democrats belong as far away from power as possible.

Second, Trump has gotten the USA involved in exactly 0 wars. That said, I think the administration’s trade ‘war’ with China and other countries is shooting ourselves in the face not even to spite our nose.

Third, Trump has facilitated peace between Israel and multiple Arab countries, and this is after moving the American embassy to Jerusalem, which the ‘experts’ said would result in Arabs losing their minds.

Fourth, Trump has gotten us out of the Iran deal and the Paris climate agreement.

I remain appalled by Trump’s stance on immigration. I remain appalled by conservatives insistence that immigration be strictly through legal channels. In doing so, they place the same people in charge of immigration as are in charge of health care, homeland security, food and drug administration, public education, etc. If conservatives despise how the government has handled all of those departments, why on Earth do they think the government has any right to decide who gets to come into the country? The federal government fails consistently and spectacularly. Them determining what constitutes ‘legal’ vs. ‘illegal’ has only ever ended poorly for everybody. This is not to mention that freedom for everybody is enriched, not curtailed, when people are able to enter the United States in pursuit of their dreams and goals.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started